Belkin n300 SetupBelkin Wireless Router SetupHow To

How To Factory Reset A Belkin Router?

belkin setup n600

The factory setting of a router is usually only needed for troubleshooting or for making major changes to your network. You should not take this process casually, as it will clear all your settings and reset all router configuration to the default settings. If you need to reset a Belkin router at the factory, this tutorial shows you how to do this.

First, let’s see how a router works and what a factory reset will do.

Router configuration

All routers contain hardware that looks like a PC but on a much smaller scale. There is a CPU, memory, network card (s), solid-state memory and a power supply. There is no need for a graphics card or sound card, but the rest is largely the same. Instead of running Windows or Mac OS, the router will use firmware.

Firmware is a much smaller, tighter version of an operating system that is usually not configurable. This allows it to work faster and more reliable because there are fewer coding options and fewer error corrections are needed. Those options that you can change are limited to outside the core OS, such as ports, firewall, network addresses, and so on.

All those user changes are saved in the configuration file. There is a standard configuration file and a copy that you can change as a router administrator. All changes are made to this copy with the standard untouched.

When the router starts up, the firmware reads the configuration file after loading the core to implement the specific configuration options that you have set. Every time you make a change to a router setting, it is written to the configuration file and implemented every time the router is restarted.

When you perform a factory reset, the working copy of the configuration file is deleted and replaced with a copy of the default file. All your changes and network settings will be deleted along with these. A factory reset is, therefore, the last resort.

Factory reset a Belkin router

There are two ways to reset a Belkin router at the factory, perform a software reset, and perform a hard reset.

Soft factory resets a Belkin router:

  • Log in to your router as an administrator via 192.168.2.1.
  • Navigate to Administration, select ‘Advanced settings’ and select ‘Restore factory settings’.
  • On some routers, the options are ‘Router maintenance’ and ‘Settings’. Then select Reset Belkin Router instead of Factory Restore.
  • On other Belkin models, the options are Tools and Factory Reset or Restart Router.
  • Confirm your choice and allow the router to restart and restore the factory settings.

Hard factory reset a Belkin router:

  • Turn the router so that you look at the back.
  • Press the reset button or use a thin tool to press the sunken reset button for about 20 seconds.
  • Allow the router to restart and reload the default configuration. This should take approximately 1 minute.
  • Reset your modem once the router has restarted.

Please note that when you reset your Belkin router at the factory, the password you used no longer works. You must log in with the default username and change the password and password to something more secure. Do this immediately.

The username of Belkin Router by default is ‘admin’ and the password field remains empty until you have changed these values.

Update firmware after a factory reset

It is always a good idea to look for a firmware update when you perform a factory reset. Router manufacturers offer regularly updated firmware for their routers, because they develop new functions, resolve errors or improve the code. After a factory reset, log in to your router and select Firmware update. Have the router search for updated firmware and download if it finds a number.

Sometimes it can take months between updates, so don’t worry if your router can’t find one. You can leave the current firmware alone or manually check for new firmware on the Belkin website.

Initial configuration changes

After you have restored your Belkin router to the factory, you must log in and make some changes. Some are essential, while others are optional.

  • Change the login name and password. You may not always be able to change the login name, but always change the password to something more secure.
  • Change the SSID (optional) so that your devices can better recognize your wireless network.
  • Change the default wireless password to something secure.
  • Switch off the guest network unless you are going to use it.
  • Change the wireless channel (optional) to a less congested one; most people leave it at default values, so the signal at other frequencies is usually clear.
  • Change the DNS servers to Google (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) or OpenDNS (208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220) – (optional).

So now, you know how to reset a Belkin router at the factory. It is a painless process, but it takes a while for the router to be reconfigured unless you have backed up the configuration. Hope it helps!

We can help you for Belkin router, so if you want to perform Belkin router setup, then you should make sure that all the connections have been properly done. If you come across any issue while setting up Belkin router, then you should consult experts. For that, you can call us at our toll-free number. We have also the best facility where we resolve all issues related to Belkin Range Extender Setup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *